Effective September 1, 2021 the Cameron County Clerk’s Office will process Marriage License applications by appointment only. Please contact our office at (956)544-0815 or (956)544-0817 to make an appointment.
A partir del 1ero de Septiembre del 2021, la oficina de Secretaria del Condado de Cameron procesara las solicitudes de matrimonio solamente por cita previa. Por favor de llamar al (956)544-0815 o (956)544-0817, para programar una cita.
Marriage licenses are recorded with the Vital Statistics Department. In order to apply for a marriage license, both applicants must meet certain requirements. Both applicants must present themselves in person at any of our branch locations. If one party is not available to be present, the other party, or an adult representative, may bring a completed and notarized AFFIDAVIT OF ABSENT APPLICANT FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE (PDF), with a photocopy of the absent applicant’s valid ID.
An informal marriage license can be obtained by a couple who has agreed to be married, lives together in the state of Texas, and represents themselves as married. An absent affidavit application cannot be used for the informal marriage license.
MARRIAGE LICENSE OFFICE
Cameron County Clerk’s Office
835 East Levee St. 3rd Fl.
Brownsville, TX 78520
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Once a marriage license has been issued, it is valid for 90 days after the issued date. The marriage license is valid in all counties in the state of Texas. (Texas family code 2.001)
Per Texas law, there is a 72-hour waiting period before the marriage ceremony may take place. There are exceptions under the following circumstances:
- If the applicants obtain a written waiver from a judge.
- If one of the applicants is an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States (Military Id must be provided)
- If the applicants submit the premarital education course certificate from Twogether in Texas.
- If applicants are remarrying each other.
Both parties must be present for the marriage ceremony. The only exception is if one party is a member of the armed forces of the United States and is stationed in another country, and therefore, is unable to attend the ceremony. If this is the case, an adult representative may be appointed to act as a proxy in the ceremony.
The ceremony may be performed by the parties’ officiant of choice.
If a party wishes to change their name after the marriage, they may do so through the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Social Security Administration. The name on the marriage license will not change.
MARRIAGE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
For full details on the requirements to receive a license, please review the requirements for a marriage license.
- Both applicants must submit proof of age and identity by a certified copy of the applicants’ birth certificate, driver license, or document issued by the state of Texas or another state, the United States, or a foreign government.
- Each applicant is required to present their social security number (if applicable).
- The fee can be paid by cash or credit card
- Applicants under the age of 18 must present a certified copyof their court order “Removal of Disabilities of Minority” granted by the state of Texas or another state.
- Neither applicant may have been divorced within the last 30 days unless they meet certain exceptions from this requirement.
APPLYING FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
If one party will be absent when applying for a marriage license, the other party or an assigned adult representative may represent them when applying. Please, review the instructions for an Affidavit of Absent Applicant (pdf) and the Affidavit of Absent Applicant for Marriage License to be sure that all information has been completed correctly.
Our office may not issue a marriage license when both applicants are absent unless the person applying on behalf of each absent applicant provides an affidavit declaring that the applicants are members of the armed forces of the United States and are stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation. Military identification is also required for each applicant who is not present to obtain the marriage license.
Twogether in Texas
When a couple presents the Twogether in Texas Certificate, the 72-hour waiting is waived. The Twogether in Texas Certificate is valid for one year from the date the course was taken, and the couple is eligible for a discount of $60.00 from the marriage license fee.
Marriage License Application
Once all information has been gathered, the parties must fill out either the Marriage License online application or the Informal Marriage License online application as appropriate. The electronic copy will be submitted to our office and is available for up to five (5) days after submission.
After the application has been submitted, please, call our Vital Statistics Department (956)-544-0817 to schedule your appointment. The applicants must bring all relevant documentation and the fee for the Marriage License.
License Fees in cash, money order or credit card:
- Marriage License: $82.00
- Marriage License for Out of State Residents: $182.00
- Informal Marriage License: $47.00
Marriage License Recording
To record your marriage license after the ceremony has been performed you can:
- Bring it to our office
- Mail your original Marriage License to:
Cameron County Clerk’s Office: Vital Statistics P.O. Box .2178 , Brownsville, Texas 78520
- Your license will be recorded and mailed back to the address listed on the back of your marriage license.
Note: Certified Copies of a Marriage License are $21 each.
Each couple that gets married will be provided with:
Marriage License Information:
MARRIAGE LICENSE COPIES
Our office can provide Certified Copies of a Marriage License and A Declaration and Registration of Informal Marriage Certificate if the application was completed in Cameron County from 1848 to the present day for $21 per copy. To request a copy of a license purchased in another county, please contact that county’s County Clerk Office.
Since marriage licenses are public records, anyone may request a copy of marriage license by completing a Marriage License Copy Request Form and submitting it to our office.
Both types of copies can be requested in person, by mail or by email. For an email request, please, submit your request to firstname.lastname@example.org. When submitting your request, be sure to include both applicants’ names, the date of marriage, and the requestor’s name, phone number, and mailing address.
For additional information, please call 956-544-0817.