Scroll Top

Vision Zero

Cameron County, recognizing the significant emotional and economic impact of the 98,000+ traffic crashes and 350+ fatalities within the County over the last decade, has made a commitment to the Vision Zero goal. On August 23rd 2022 the Cameron County Commissioners Court adopted the goal of eliminating traffic fatalities and severe injuries on County Roadways by the year 2050.  Through this resolution, Resolution 2022 R08073, the Commissioners Court directed the Cameron County Department of Transportation and County staff to consider safety the highest priority for County roadways.

The 2022 Cameron County Safety Action Plan was funded by Cameron County Commissioner’s Court as a critical first step in advancing a Vision Zero philosophy across the region. The Cameron County, in coordination with all the incorporated cities and towns (Brownsville, Harlingen, San Benito, Los Fresnos, Port Isabel, South Padre Island) with the Cameron County Department of Transportation serving as the lead to develop the plan to address travel safety for motorists, cyclists, and pedestrians within Cameron County.  On September 13th 2022, the Cameron County adopted the 2022 Cameron County Safety Action Plan through Resolution R09078.


Through Resolution R09078, adopting the 2022 Cameron County Safety Action Plan, created a Vision Zero Task force under the leadership of the Cameron County Department of Transportation.  The Task Force will be comprised of representatives from public safety, public health, and the general public and be tasked with the continual assessment, amending, and updating of the Cameron County Safety Action Plan.  The Vision Zero Task Force represents another effort to reach the County’s goal to eliminate deaths and serious injuries on County roads.  Currently, the Task Force are pending appointees from the Commissioners Court, but is projected to convene in late 2022 for it’s inaugural meeting.

Temporary and Intermittent Road Delay of a Portion of State Hwy 4 for Monday, May 20, 2024, between 10:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m.